Creating a new home for Echo Echo took many years and involved many people

official opening image

Capital Project

Echo Echo's beautifully refurbished home building officially opened in October 2014 after a capital project that ran in different stages from feasibility to practical completion over four years.

The NI Executive was the principal capital funder of Echo Echo’s scheme through the Ilex-managed City of Culture Infrastructure Fund.

The project received major funding support from the Heritage Lottery Fund as part of the Walled City Partnership's Townscape Heritage Initiative programme, and contributed to the economic regeneration of the historic Waterloo Street – Magazine Street Conservation Area. 

The capital project was also supported by a range of public and private funding from Ulster Garden Villages, The Wolfson Foundation, Northern Ireland Environment Agency, Department of Environment, and long-term supporter of Echo Echo’s programmes, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

Capital Project Thanks

David Karran; Sean McLaughlin; David Graham and ADMS; Ian Machonichie; Craig Jefferson; Billy; John Gallen; Brendan Duddy; Cormac McKeone; Richard Wakely; Anne Minors; Finbarr McMeel, Michael McLaughlin and Sean Moore at Gilbert Ash; Peter Tracey, Mark Connolly, Maurice Gorman, Eoghan Coyle, John Tracey and all at Tracey Architects; Phil Deeny and McCauley QS; Gerry Donaghy, James O’Connor and all at AMS Ltd; all design team and construction subcontractors; Paul Deeney; Killian Doherty; Kevin Flanagan at Firmus; Martha Lewtas; Brian Reilly, Joe Byrne, Richard Hall and team at PSI; Sean at J&C Joel; Vincent Kivlehan; Stephen Hamilton, Joe Lindsay and team at Unit 7; Dawson Hinds; Gilly Campbell, Lorraine McDowell, Lorraine Calderwood, Craig Corsar and staff and board at Arts Council of Northern Ireland; Simon Fourmy and The Wolfson Foundation; Valerie Ingram and Ulster Garden Villages; Ronan O’Donnell and Walled City Partnership; Stella McDermott at Heritage Lottery Fund; Joanna McConway and Department of Culture Arts and Leisure; Rhonda Robinson and staff at Northern Ireland Environment Agency; Caoimhin Corrigan, Maura Fox, William McCormack and staff at Ilex; Geoff Stewart at CPD; Katrina Hope at Planning Service; Shona McCarthy and Graeme Farrow and all at Culture Company; Oonagh McGillion, Brendan McMenamin and staff at Derry City Council; Noel Maybin at Land & Property Services; Tina McCauley, Cath McBride, Sinead Devine, Matt Jennings, Anthony McCann, John Burns, Peter Doran, Bernadette Sheils, James Kerr, Ursula Laeubli, Steve Batts, Ailbe Beirne, Ayesha Mailey, Anna Nolan, Sarah Bryden, Esther Alleyne, Janie Doherty, Kelly Quigley, Zoe Ramsey, Tonya Sheina, Jay Campbell, Kirsty Brady, Erin Shanks, Vivian Brock, all the building owners and estate agents who showed us around so many buildings, and everyone else who contributed time, energy and support so generously over many years.